The College of Business, Economics and Accountancy (CBEA) was formally established in 1987. It is committed to develop a corps of competent and socially responsible professionals and entrepreneurs through quality management and business education, community-based research, extension and productivity- oriented programs.

CBEA is one of the nine academic units of the university.  It is found at the University main campus in Batac, Ilocos Norte.

The Bachelor of Science in Business Administration (BSBA) major in Accounting was initially offered in 1982 both at the College of Arts and Sciences in Batac and at the College of Education in LaoagCity.  Later in 1984, BSBA major in Management was offered.  The two programs were consolidated in its present Batac campus and assumed separate academic unit status in 1987.

The 1990’s led to many curricular and course changes to address the issue of looking into the relevance of degree offerings. More programs followed - BS Economics in 1989, BSBA - Entrepreneurship in 1990, BSBA-Management Accounting in 1994 and BSBA- Tourism Management in 1995. 

On August 1995, the MMSU Board of Regents (BoR) approved the transformation of the College of Economics and Management (CEM) to College of Business, Economics and Accountancy (CBEA) through BOR Resolution No. 262. This change reflects the widening focus and broader concerns of interest of the College.

The BSBA - Entrepreneurship program was repackaged with cognates in accounting and cooperatives management in 1996. The BS in Cooperative Management was initially offered in SY 2000. 

In SY 2007-2008, two new major course offerings under the BSBA program were offered - Human Resource Development Management and Marketing Management.  The BSBA - Entrepreneurship was enhanced and renamed as BS in Entrepreneurship in compliance with CMO 17 s. 2005, In April 2010, the offering of the BS in Hospitality Management was assigned to the College. Starting SY 2010-2011, the College has the biggest number of enrolment in the University.

In September 2010, three programs – BSBA majors in Management Accounting and Tourism Management, BS in Cooperatives Management, and BS in Entrepreneurship underwent preliminary evaluation by the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP). On the following month, the BS Accountancy and BS Economics programs were evaluated and were awarded the full Level III.

To be more responsive to the needs of the tourism industry, the Bachelor of Science in Tourism Management was offered in SY 2010 – 2011 by virtue of CHED memorandum Order Number 30, series of 2006.  The new program has two major specializations: Tour and Travel Management (TTM) and International Services Management (ISM). It superseded the offering of the BSBA Tourism Management program.  Along with the offering of the BS TM program, was the transfer of the BS Hospitality Management program, which was originally offered at the College of Agriculture, Food and Sustainable Development (CAFSD) in SY 2008 – 2009 as a four-year degree program.  At present, the BS HM operates as a ladderized program.

The College continues to embrace change in the pursuit of delivering quality business education and to offer responsive degree programs.  SY 2012 – 2013 was another milestone for the College as it embarked on the offering of the BS Accounting Technology by virtue of CMO No. 50, series of 2008.

The offering of the ten degree programs made the College the biggest College of the University in terms of enrollment.

Performance of the accountancy graduates in the CPA Licensure Examinations had been exemplary asthe MMSU passing percentage had always surpassed the national passing percentage. Graduates of all the programs offered in the College have enjoyed high employability and have assumed responsible positions in the agencies they are working.